A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 26, 2012

Post 54/365+1

Another list today.  This time a ‘to do’ list or a ‘bucket list’ if you like.

I am sure most of us have a list of things we want to do before we die.  My list includes travel, sky diving, owning my own business, spending more quality time with my partner and family, learning to abseil and rock climb, becoming a published author, winning lotto and quitting my job.

Travel is something I have always loved and I have a number of places on my list that I would love to visit during my lifetime including the Pyramids, Macchu Picchu, Victoria Falls, my father’s birthplace in Scotland, all of New Zealand and Canada, Italy and the Greek Islands.  But most importantly, I want to see my own country of Australia.  I have travelled most of the East coast as far north as the Sunshine Coast and across the southern coast to Adelaide.  I have visited the eastern side of Tasmania, but would love to visit the west of Tassie as well.  I want to see Darwin and Perth, the red Centre, the Kimberleys, and Kakadu.  I want to see them before I am too old to explore these places on foot; I love being up close to our beautiful natural assets and animals; feeling the spray of waterfalls and breathing in the fresh smell of forest areas and our oceans.

I want to photograph the natural wilderness of Australia, and capture the spirit of the land and its people.  I want to experience the way people live in different parts of Australia.

I also want to experience the cultural differences of other countries; the way of life, the food, the music and other arts.  Closest to my heart would be the opportunity to visit Scotland and see the place of my father’s birth.  The house he was born in some 75 years ago still stands;  Dad had the opportunity last year to go back to Scotland and during that visit was invited in to the house which is now owned by another family.  My Dad and his family left the home 60 years ago to migrate to Australia for a better life.  It was a very emotional visit for him as he looked out of the kitchen window across the green fields where he played as a child.  Despite never having visited Scotland, my sisters and I, from childhood, always had a strong desire to go there one day; there seems to be some kind of connection to the birthplace of our ancestors.  My youngest sister has since visited with her daughter, and my other sister and I are determined to get there one day.

I have never travelled overseas, and have made a start on my future travel plans by getting my passport application filled out.  Look out world, I am coming.

Do you have a bucket list?  Are there places you want to see before you shuffle off this mortal coil?

Quote of the Day:  Time is the coin of your life.  It is the only coin you have, and only you can determine how it will be spent.  Be careful lest you let other people spend it for you.  ~Carl Sandburg

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings – Project 365 +1" (1)

  1. All fabulous destinations. That Scottish visit is going to be very precious! I love your goal to visit and get to know the diverse beauty of people, landscapes, flora and fauna in your own land… so much to see.

Leave a Reply

