A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 23, 2012

Post 52/365+1

I read an article today that made me feel sad about the way society seems to be heading.  A  Brisbane father of two is holding the second annual “Be a Gentleman Day”.   Whilst this in itself is an admirable thing to do, it strikes me as unfortunate that he feels the need to have a special day on which people should act well towards one another.

What happened to the days when acting politely and with consideration for others was the norm?  Why do people today need to be reminded to be kind and caring toward others within their community?

I do not like rude sales assistants, but retaliating with further rudeness does nothing to alleviate the problem.  I tend to vote with my feet, and remove myself from the situation.  Yes, at times I seethe, and my brain works overtime thinking of all the things I would have liked to have said.  But I would have gained nothing from being rude myself, and I would have beaten myself up over it later, as I am not, by nature, that type of person.

I am disappointed that someone feels the need to have this special day to drive home the message that we need to be more gentlemanly or ladylike; surely we should be acting that way all the time.  It doesn’t say a lot about where we are heading as a society; I don’t think I would describe us as particularly civilised any more, mores the pity.

I hope that this man’s idea takes off and we all become a bit more aware of how our attitude toward others makes a difference, not only to others, but also to ourselves.  Many of us complain of poor customer service these days and this is just a small part of a bigger issue –  society is becoming ruder and less tolerant.  We are all in a hurry; we don’t want to wait patiently for others, let them go first, hold a door for someone coming through behind us, or let another motorist merge ahead of us.  Will that few seconds make that much difference to our day (or our life)?  I am sure that a kindness shown will!  Please don’t go complaining about bad service in a store and then go out and blast someone on the road while driving.  Be a part of the solution, not part of the problem.

Do you have a pet peeve when it comes to manners or lack thereof?  Do you think “Be a Gentleman Day” will take off?

Kindness

 

Quote of the Day:  Whoever one is, and wherever one is, one is always in the wrong if one is rude.  ~Maurice Baring

 

Leave a Reply

