A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 20, 2012

Post 49/365+1

Quote of the Day:  I think everybody should get rich and famous and do everything they ever dreamed of so they can see that it’s not the answer. ~Jim Carrey

I have started today’s post with the Quote of the Day as there has been a lot of media attention around the recent death of Whitney Houston.  So many celebrities seem to have it all – fame, money, beautiful homes, adoration of fans, world travel, jewellery, fantastic wardrobes and all of those things we all think we need to be happy.  But so many of them die sad, lonely, tragic deaths.

It doesn’t seem to me that celebrities are any happier than the rest of us.  In many ways they often appear to be less happy.  They give up their privacy and become little more than commodities in a materialistic world.  How and when do they get to enjoy those little things in life that we all take for granted?  A walk through the park with our kids, a leisurely shopping trip, dinner and a movie, camping weekends at the beach.  Instead they deal with constant media scrutiny, criticism if they gain or lose a few pounds, or dare to be seen in public without makeup!

I may not have everything I want in life, but I have everything I need and more!  I have a home; not a mansion filled with hired help but a real home, warm and filled with love.  I have a family who are loved and who love me for who I am, not what I am,  or for what I can give them.  I have peace and calm in my life, and freedom to do with my life what I please, without scrutiny or question from anyone except those I care about.

I can leave the house in casual clothes and next to no makeup and no-one is going to snap my photo and splash it across the front page of gossip mags (thank goodness!)  I don’t get criticised for the way my children dress/behave/speak/live their lives by anyone who doesn’t matter.  I am not dealing with the pressure to perform for a fickle public at every turn, and then having deal with the consequences of not pleasing said public.

So if being rich and famous isn’t the answer, what is?

For me, it is being happy with what I have; making the best of the opportunities I am presented with, and knowing that the love I have in my life is the most important thing to have.  I have never yearned to be rich and famous.  I am sure my life is far happier and certainly much simpler than many celebs, and that suits me just fine!

Fame fortune vanity happiness

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings – Project 365 +1" (4)

  1. So true. Thank you for posting this. It’s good to be reminded that the fame comes at a price we’d really not want to pay.

  2. I think it’s human nature to always want to reach a little higher, have a little more. Thanks for the reminder of the simple treasures. I liked a quote I saw on Pinterest yesterday that said, “If you spent less time staring at greener grass, you’d have more time to water your own.”

    • I’ve heard the saying about greener grass before Hannah; it is so true. We need to be more appreciative of what we do have instead of wasting time and energy chasing things that are not guaranteed to make us any happier.

Leave a Reply

