A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 17, 2012

Post 46/365+1

A very special beginning occurred early this morning when my eldest daughter gave birth to her third child.  This is my sixth grandchild and my fourth granddaughter.  Her name is Kate Bethany and she is beautiful.  I am, of course, in no way biased in this opinion.

She was born at 2.30 am and weighed 7lb 1 oz.  Ten tiny fingers and ten tiny toes, tiny shell like ears and a light covering of dark hair on her head.  I had a cuddle this afternoon.  She slept so soundly in my arms and didn’t even flinch when I took her photo.

As I was caring for my other two grandchildren last night, I was unable to post yesterday.  I arrived home from work, went out for a work dinner with my partner, left there early as I had received the call from my daughter, and drove 20 minutes through a massive thunderstorm to arrive at their farm for the night.  As I had no internet out there, I had to wait until today to get a post organised.  In a way this was good as it has allowed me to post my good news and a photo of the latest addition.  Her brother and sister are excited to finally have their baby sister.  Stephanie is almost three and has informed her Mum that her sister’s name is not Kate, it is Baby.  My five year old grandson, Will, was interested in how the baby got out of his Mum’s tummy!!!  He was worried they would have to cut her out!! Luckily that wasn’t the case and the birth went smoothly and quickly for my daughter.

It is so lovely to see my family growing steadily!  There are now two at school, two at kinder, and two babies.  I now have a total of ten direct descendants.  WOW!!  Loving it!

I hope you are all enjoying your weekend.

Quote of the Day:  Family faces are magic mirrors.  Looking at people who belong to us, we see the past, present, and future.  ~Gail Lumet Buckley

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings – Project 365 +1" (6)

  1. Congratulations! She is beautiful.

  2. She is darling. A big congratulations to you and your family! And I just have to say, Thank heavens for grandmothers. They are life savers in more ways than one!

  3. Many congratulations. She is so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

