A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 11, 2012

Post 41/365+1

Welcome to the weekend. I hope you are all having a restful, relaxing time. I am sorry, dear readers, that there was no post yesterday; life intervened.  I will now have to make up an extra post at some point during the year in order to stay true to my 365+1.

********

Yesterday was Ava’s birthday.  She is now 1 year old.  Because we were so busy yesterday, she spent most of the day on her own.  She has a nice juicy bone today to make up for it and is very happy

********

I love how the way we feel about birthdays changes as we grow up and then grow older.  As children we can’t wait for our birthday to come around and then when it is over, we are counting the days until it is due again.  Along with the countdown, most children will be planning what sort of birthday cake they will asking mum to bake and decorate.  My kids always started poring over the birthday cake book early in the year and letting me know which one they wanted me to tackle.  Sometimes they were simple designs and I breathed a sigh of relief; at others times I would be dreading the decision to let them choose whichever one they wanted. They usually turned out okay though, despite the degree of difficulty involved at times.

As we get older, birthdays start to be about the parties and sharing our special day with our friends, peaking with 18th and 21sts.  After that we head for the BIG O birthdays; 30, 40, 50, 60; each one more dreaded than the last.  We start to feel like we are no longer young and we don’t always want to celebrate our birthday as it reminds us of the passing years.  Many of us of course, are accepting of the ageing process and enjoy the milestones.  We understand that no matter what the number is, we are still the same person.  I know I don’t feel any different to what I did when I was in my 20’s.

Then, as we head for 80, 90, and even 100 if we are lucky, the occasion is marked with celebration and a cake adorned with MANY candles once again.  We gather our growing family around us and we know that birthdays are not just for marking our progress through life’s journey, but also for recognising our contribution to family life.

If you are having a birthday this year , I hope you are looking forward to it; view it as a marker post as you make your way along the road that is your life and remember:  those who have the most birthdays, live the longest!

********

Quote of the Day:  Inside every older person is a younger person wondering what happened.  ~Jennifer Yane

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings – Project 365 +1" (2)

  1. Ava is TOO cute! Happy Birthday to her. And I always love birthdays, regardless of age. 😉

Leave a Reply

