A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

February 7, 2012

Post 38/365+1

   Happy birthday, Charles Dickens. Born February 7, 1812.

I have only ever read one Charles Dickens novel and that was ‘A Christmas Carol’.  I have seen different movie versions of Oliver Twist, David Copperfield, and A Tale of Two Cities and various incarnations of A Christmas Carol.   I do own Oliver Twist and Great Expectations and I intend to read them one day.  Really I do!!  Wonderful classic tales that never get tired.  It is hard to believe that these still popular stories were written over 150 years ago.  Great Expectations is now to be made into a movie.

********

I seem to be suffering from some sort of midweek writer’s block tonight.  I wonder if that used to happen to Dickens.  How do we get through it?  I am quite tired and I am more than willing to give up, and go and get some sleep.  Forced writing never seems to work and comes across as insincere and unnatural.  I am hopeful of some inspiration tomorrow, and wish you all a good night.

Quote of the Day:  Have a heart that never hardens, a temper that never tires, a touch that never hurts.  ~Charles Dickens

Comments on: "Beginnings and Endings – Project 365 +1" (2)

  1. Maybe reading some more Dickens will help unstick your block. 🙂 Happy birthday Mr. Dickens!

  2. thegracefuldoe said:

    I read Great Expectations for Literature at school. I also remember watching a movie version of it with Gwyneth Paltrow in it at one stage. A Christmas Carol and Oliver Twist are the only other two I’ve read. I love the old black and white Oliver Twist movie. I’ve also seen Oliver Twist on stage.

Leave a Reply

