A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 31, 2012

Post 31/365+1

The end of January already.  One month of 2012 has gone by so quickly.  I never used to believe my parents when they told me that time goes by faster the older we get.  Now I am in my fifties, I know it to be true.  The years fly by so quickly now.  There are many times I wish time would slow down a little bit and let me catch up.

Suddenly my four children are grown up and now raising children of their own, and successfully making their way in the world.  The house is quiet as just my partner and I potter about in it, along with our dog, Ava. It took some time for me to get used to the idea of not having any children to look after; not having to cook for a family, wash every day, and run around after them.  I still worry about them and give them advice when I think they need it, but I have grown to love the peace and quiet and the freedom that comes with an empty nest.  My partner and I go out to dinner more often, we go away for weekends more often, there is less pressure to cook dinner each night, and we can just sit quietly in the evenings and watch what WE want on TV or sit and read in peace.

Each phase of our lives brings its own joys and challenges.  We now have the joy of grandchildren in our lives.  The joy of each other’s company without the distraction of a busy family life.  But we also now face the challenges that come with getting older.  I have been going through menopause these last 12 months; dealing with mood swings, hot flushes, sleeplessness and the ensuing frustration and irritability.  I have recently found that Promensil (which contains red clover) has greatly reduced these symptoms and I am now beginning to feel normal again.  My hot flushes have stopped and I am sleeping more soundly as a consequence.

It is essential now for us both to maintain our health via diet and exercise.   Good nutrition is always the key to good health. My resolutions at the beginning of the year included improving my eating habits and I am slowly succeeding in this.   I am becoming much more aware of what I am eating and doing a lot of research about nutrition. I have certainly increased my intake of fruit and vegetables. I haven’t eaten white bread in over a month, having replaced it with multi grain bread.  Red meat is only eaten occasionally, with a greater emphasis on fish and chicken, and vegetarian meals.

February is about to begin and it will provide an opportunity to consolidate my new healthier habits.

Good night all.  😀

Leave a Reply

