A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 17, 2012

Post 17/365+1

I just had to share this link with everyone today.  It has some great household tips that are super useful and easy. I love those simple ideas that make you say “Why didn’t I think of that?”   And while you’re there, why not look around the stumbleupon site. It is just fabulous; you name it and you will probably find it there.

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1jh0yc/www.thedailybuzz.com.au/2011/11/25-clever-ideas_household-tips_storage-ideas/

********

I have decided that it is time I got my budget under control this year, so I will be starting a new savings program and keeping track of what I spend each week.  This is usually easier said than done of course, but I am determined to lower my debt and cut up my credit cards.  As my new job pays less than my old one, I have had to reign in my spending and put more thought into what I buy – need vs want. I have bought new clothes and shoes for my new job as in my last job a uniform was provided.  It is lovely to be able to dress nicely and wear heels again after 10 years in shapeless trousers and ‘sensible’ black lace up shoes.  But it is an expensive exercise updating the wardrobe.  I have tried to incorporate existing items such as shirts and tops, black trousers and skirts and kept to a mix and match theme; I have added some lovely new dresses and little cardigans, some new shirts and two new pairs of shoes.

Now that I am all kitted out for work I need to concentrate on saving each fortnight, even if it is only a small amount;  it will soon add up.  The aim is to be able to take a relaxing holiday with my partner, somewhere by the ocean.  Having  something to save for makes all the difference.  It provides a great incentive to go without the little things that I don’t really need to have.

My new eating plan will also help to save money with lunch taken from home each day instead of buying it, fewer takeaway dinners, less meat in our diet, and plenty of  in-season fruit and vegetables.

********

And on that note, tonight’s yummy sounding dinner is Warm Lemon and Ginger Chicken Salad.  Perfect since it is quite warm today and I feel like something light for tea. Recipe included below for anyone who would like to try it. I haven’t made this before, so I’m hoping it tastes as good as it sounds.

Warm Lemon and Ginger Chicken Salad

½ cup lemon juice

3 teaspoons minced ginger

¼ cup light dry sherry (or rice wine)

2 Tbsp light soy sauce

¼ cup honey

4 chicken breast fillets

¼ cup cornflour

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

Combine lemon juice, ginger, dry sherry, soy sauce and honey in a small saucepan and heat over medium heat until marinade comes to the boil and the honey has dissolved.  Remove from heat and leave to cool.

Place chicken in a shallow dish and pour over half the cooled marinade and set aside to marinate for as long as time permits.

Drain chicken and discard marinade. Lightly dust chicken in the cornflour.  Heat oil in frying pan over medium heat and cook chicken for 2 minutes each side.  Add reserved marinade  to pan and simmer for 10 minutes or until sauce has thickened and chicken is cooked. Cover and rest for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile grate 1 carrot and 1 zucchini into long strips, slice 100 gr snow peas and 4 spring onions thinly. Toss with 100 gr Asian greens and baby spinach and divide between four plates.  Slice chicken thickly and place on salad; spoon over sauce and serve.

********

Enjoy your evening.

Leave a Reply

