A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 14, 2012

Post 14/365+1

Today has been a day of cleaning, tidying and typing so far.  I managed to find a number of vegan recipes for my daughter which I have now typed up ready to send to her.  I am keen to try a couple of them myself, especially the soups.  Even though it is summer, the weather has certainly been cool enough for soup these past few days.  The Carrot and Ginger soup is one I have made before (recipe below) and is quite delicious.  The addition of some chopped, cooked chicken makes it a little more hearty, but is entirely optional.  I also found recipes for Lentil and Sweet Potato soup and Garlic soup.  Both sound wonderful.

********

I am trying to learn more about using Photoshop.  I have had it for about 2 years but have never really learnt to use it effectively.  I have found a number of online tutorials lately and am using them to gain more skills.  It is quite a complex program and I am sure I will  only use a minuscule portion of it.  But it is fun to see what I can do with my photos.  It has certainly kept me amused this afternoon.  I will eventually put the results of my experiments up on here for your viewing pleasure. 😀

********

Tomorrow will be a day of shopping and cooking.  I am keen to try out some of the recipes I found today.  Most of them are vegetable based dishes; this will get me back on track with my diet plan.  I will let you know how they turn out.

********

Carrot and Ginger soup

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 brown onion, chopped

2 tsp crushed ginger

2 tsp crushed garlic

1 kg carrots, chopped

4 cups vegetable/chicken stock

Method:

Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion, garlic and ginger. Reduce heat to medium low. Cook, stirring occasionally for 8-10 minutes or until onion is soft. Add carrots, stock and 2 cups water to pan. Simmer, partially covered for 45 minutes or until carrots are very tender. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.  Using a food processor or stick mixer, process soup in batches until smooth.  Return to pan and stir over low heat until warmed through.

Optional extra:  1 cup of chopped cooked chicken stirred through before reheating.

Leave a Reply

