A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 7, 2012

Post 7/365+1

One week of 2012 down; fifty one to go.  How has your year been so far?  Resolutions still intact?  Are you kicking goals yet?  Is it too early to tell?

In one week I have managed to get a few of my ‘beginnings’ underway.

More thought is now being given to what I eat and I have increased my consumption of fruit, vegetables and nuts, and reduced my intake of fats and sugars.  My exercise rate has not changed; still pretty much being a couch potato when I get home from work each day. Need to work on that I guess.

********

I have signed up to Flickr and uploaded some of my photos; I have joined the ABC Open camera club group on Flickr in order to enter a competition.  I have always loved photography but have never really done much more than take happy snaps of family and friends, and taken holiday and sporting event pics.  I am sure that getting involved in a competition with a specific theme can only improve my picture taking skills.  Here is the link to the ABC site for those who are interested –  http://www.abc.net.au/projects. The current project is called ‘Up Close’.  You will also need to sign up to Flickr in order to enter this comp.

********

I have also signed up for a Picture Book writing challenge –  12 x 12 in 2012.  The challenge is to write 12 children’s picture books in 12 months.  I haven’t done much writing in the last 20 years, so I am finding this a real challenge.  Part of the reason for this blog is to become more disciplined about writing every day.  I used to write all the time when I was younger.  I remember writing my first ‘book’ when I was only 10; illustrations included.  It was an Australian ‘Alice in Wonderland’ type of story about a little girl lost in the bush who was befriended by native animals.  I also attempted to write a number of picture books when my own children were small.  Never got around to doing anything with them though.  My eldest daughter has had a few stories published recently, and this has reignited my passion for writing.  You can read my daughter’s work at thegracefuldoe.wordpress.com.  I have a few ideas I have been brainstorming for the book challenge and now I need to flesh them out and put them on paper.  I will then beta test them with my young grandchildren; nothing like a live audience for honest feedback.

********

During a search through a box of old writing resources this morning I found this small newspaper cutting.  It has no author to attribute it to; for that I apologise.  It was too good to not share with you.

Position Vacant: Domestic Manager

Applications are invited for the position of manager of a lively team of three demanding individuals of differing needs and personalities. The successful applicant will be required to perform and co-ordinate the following functions: companion, counsellor, financial manager, buying officer, teacher, nurse, chef, nutritionist, decorator, cleaner, driver, child care supervisor, social secretary, and recreation officer.

Qualifications: Applicants must have unlimited drive and the strongest sense of responsibility if they are to succeed in this job. They must be independent and self motivated, and be able to work in isolation and without supervision. They must be skilled in the management of people of all ages. They must be able to work under stress for long periods of time if necessary. They must have flexibility to perform a number of conflicting tasks at the one time without tiring. They must have the adaptability to handle all new developments in the life of the team, including emergencies and serious crises.

They must be able to communicate on a range of issues with people of all ages, including public servants, school teachers, doctors, dentists, tradespeople, business people, teenagers, and children.  They must be competent in the practical skills listed above.  They must be healthy, creative, active and outgoing to encourage the physical and social development of the team members. They must have imagination, sensitivity, warmth, love and understanding, since they are responsible for the mental and emotional well being of the team.

Hours of work: All waking hours and a 24 hour shift when necessary.

Pay:  No salary or wage. Allowances by arrangement, from time to time, with the income earning member of the team.  The successful applicant may be required to hold a second job, in addition to the one advertised here.

Benefits: No guaranteed holidays. No guaranteed sick leave, maternity leave or long service leave. No guaranteed life or accident insurance. No worker’s compensation. No superannuation.

To all of those Domestic Managers out there, we know we do it for the biggest benefit of all: the love of the team.

Talk to you again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

