A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 4, 2012

Post 4/365+1

Back to work today after 11 days off.  It has been a very busy Christmas/New Year with family staying as well as all the preparations for Christmas, of which we had 2. One at my daughter’s new farm on Christmas Day (minus my partner, who had to work) then one on December 30 with everyone at my other daughter’s home.  There has been plenty of shopping, cooking and cleaning happening; as well as a constant stream of visitors to entertain.  All very enjoyable, but at times quite tiring.  It will be good to get back to the normal routine for a while.  I must say though, that I am missing my children already.

Only 3 people on deck at work today and no customers, except for 1 phone enquiry.  It gave me the chance to get some of the backlog out of the way.  And being new to the job, I also had the opportunity to do some reading and research while it was so quiet.  After 2 months I am still trying to get my head around all the policy, procedure and protocols, as well as the ordinary day to day operations.  My new career is just one of my beginnings that I will need to focus on this year, gaining the skills I need to do the job well.  As I am now in my 50’s, I intend to make the most of this new direction and hopefully retire in 15 years having made a success of it.

My choice of title for this blog – Beginnings and Endings – was about moving forward, towards the things I want to achieve, and away from the things that are not helpful to me.  Beginning a healthier diet means an end to food that does not enhance my well being;  beginning a savings plan means an end to struggling to make ends meet; beginning a new job means an end to working in an environment that was negative and non-supportive.  My focus will be on the beginnings as I see them as the positive side of this beginning/ending coin.

Please stay with me on this year long journey and feel free to comment and share your thoughts with me.  I would love to hear about your resolutions and how you will go about seeing them through.

I will continue to share the occasional recipe and photo with you.  And I will post any interesting article links and motivational quotes that I find relevant.

 ********

Food today has been so good.  Left over roast vege salad from last night with some potato salad for lunch, and home made, fresh fruit salad for afternoon tea.  Plenty of green tea and water.  Tonight we are planning on going out for tea, so I aim to be good and order something light – perhaps fish and salad.  And I will treat myself to 1 glass of wine.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

