A place for me to share, entertain, vent and discuss.

January 3, 2012

Post 3/365+1

Another warm day.  It is difficult to stay motivated to do housework when it is this hot.  I am working in spurts today.  A little bit of housework, a little bit of writing, lots of net surfing and reading.  I am finding other people’s NY resolutions and how to keep them of interest today.  Most people seem to run out of motivation by Australia Day (Jan 26) due to distraction, temptation, fear, laziness or from lack of information on how reach their goal.  My main reason for starting this blog project was to keep myself on track with my goals. To make myself accountable and to give myself  a means of measuring my progress.  It is only day 3, but already I feel a sense of needing to prove to myself, and all those who choose to follow my blog, that I can do this.  My choice of foods will become better and my health will improve because of those choices.  No white bread so far today.  Yay for that!  Green tea, dried apricots and a handful of brazil nuts so far.  Lots of water to drink; which is easy to do when it is so hot.  I am now making a fresh fruit salad for lunch with apple, banana, nectarine, orange, grapes,raspberries and pineapple.  Smells divine and looks gorgeous too.  We are so lucky to have this wonderful abundance of fresh fruit to choose from in Australia, especially during the summer months.

********

Visitors from interstate arriving this evening, so some thought must be given to cooking dinner tonight.  Lamb chops and a roast vegetable salad is the plan; and a fruit platter for dessert.  Time to get to the supermarket and grab those yummy fruits and veges.

********

Chat potatoes cooked for a quick potato salad, roast vege salad ready to go in the oven and a wonderful selection of fruit in the fridge for our fruit platter.  Only thing left to do is grill the lamb chops and a gorgeous Aussie dinner will be on the table to enjoy.

Roast Vegetable Salad

Chop zucchini, red and yellow capsicums, red onion, roma tomatoes, and lightly steamed carrot. Toss in a little olive oil and place in a single layer in an oven tray. Bake for 30 minutes at 180ºC.  Add cherry tomatoes and bake for another 15 minutes.  Remove from oven and leave to cool for 30 minutes. Squeeze the juice from half a lemon over the salad and serve.  Season with a little salt and pepper if desired.

Leave a Reply

